Types of school in Dubai

The 238 private schools in KHDA's register by who they teach, the language they teach in and the phases they run, as the register and directory describe each school.

Schools by who they teach, their language of instruction and their phasesEach of the 238 schools counts once in each group; a school running several phases is in each of their rows.

TypeSchoolsof 238 in the registerSchools
Who the school teaches
Boys and girlsBoys and girls: 201 of 238 schools
Boys onlyBoys only: 6 of 238 schools
Girls onlyGirls only: 5 of 238 schools
Not stated in the registerNot stated in the register: 26 of 238 schools
Language of instruction
EnglishEnglish: 150 of 238 schools
English and ArabicEnglish and Arabic: 32 of 238 schools
ArabicArabic: 12 of 238 schools
PersianPersian: 3 of 238 schools
English and PersianEnglish and Persian: 2 of 238 schools
ChineseChinese: 1 of 238 schools
GermanGerman: 1 of 238 schools
JapaneseJapanese: 1 of 238 schools
Not published or not clearNot published or not clear: 36 of 238 schools
Phases the school runs
KindergartenKindergarten: 222 of 238 schools
PrimaryPrimary: 229 of 238 schools
SecondarySecondary: 221 of 238 schools
Post-16 (sixth form, grades 11–12)Post-16 (sixth form, grades 11–12): 185 of 238 schools
Every phase, KG to post-16Every phase, KG to post-16: 172 of 238 schools
Kindergarten onlyKindergarten only: 4 of 238 schools

How this is worked out

Who a school teaches is KHDA's own entry; the language of instruction is the register's, or the inspection report's where the register has none, and a wording naming a language KHDA does not list is counted as not clear. A phase counts when the school runs any year group of it.

Source

KHDA's school register (open data) and school directory; KHDA Full Inspection Reports for the language where the register is silent.